ID
5911
Tbirds alumni across the U.S., students and staff are welcome to register/
 
Join other film lovers from around the country for this interactive event where cinema, culture and conversation ignite!
 
ASU Film Spark and Amazon Studios invite you to an advance virtual screening of “Sylvie’s Love” starring Tessa Thompson on December 9, 2020.
 
The following day, December 10, participate in a national online Q&A featuring a panel of special guests including Writer/Director Eugene Ashe, plus a chance to win some other incentives from Amazon Studios!
 
HOW TO GET INVOLVED
 
  1. Wednesday, Dec. 9 SCREENING of “Sylvie’s Love”: To watch the movie, simply click the link for your specific time zone below to register in advance. The screening will begin at 7:00pm local time. You will receive a link to the screening via email from no-reply@amazonscreenings.com one hour prior to the screening.
   
  1. Thursday, Dec. 10 Q+A with Writer/Director Eugene Ashe: Click the link below to register for the Q&A on Zoom! The Q&A will begin at 6:00pm MST (8pm EST / 5pm PST).
 
 
 
More information about the movie and event is below.
 
We hope to see you there!
- ASU Film Spark
 
###
 
Q&A Panel**
December 10, 2020
5pm PST, 6pm MST, 7pm CST, 8pm EST
 
*The pre-release screening showtimes will be offered for FREE by Amazon and will be available by an emailed link.
**The Q&A will take place over Zoom and feature a panel of professionals involved in the making of the film (to be determined). Special guests subject to availability.
 
ABOUT “SYLVIE’S LOVE”
 
In Sylvie’s Love, the jazz is smooth and the air sultry in the hot New York summer of 1957. Robert (Nnamdi Asomugha), a saxophonist, spends late nights playing behind a less-talented but well-known bandleader, as a member of a jazz quartet. Sylvie (Tessa Thompson), who dreams of a career in television, spends her summer days helping out around her father’s record store, as she waits for her fiancé to return from war. When Robert takes a part-time job at the record store, the two begin a friendship that sparks a deep passion in each of them unlike anything they’ve felt before. As the summer winds down, life takes them in different directions, bringing their relationship to an end. Years pass, Sylvie’s career as a TV producer blossoms, while Robert has to come to terms with what the age of Motown is doing to the popularity of Jazz. In a chance meeting, Sylvie and Robert cross paths again, only to find that while their lives have changed, their feelings for each other remain the same. Writer/director Eugene Ashe combines romance and music into a sweeping story that brings together changing times, a changing culture, and the true price of love. Watch the official trailer.
Start Date
End Date
Venue
http://amazonscreenings.com/SYLVIESLOVEpacific 
Public
Off